Cabin Fever

Sea of evergreensAnother cold, February weekend in DC got me thinking about cabin fever.  Even though it  “is not a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment,”  I self-diagnosed using WebMD.   I didn’t get far and had to go to Wikipedia for help. There I learned that the kind of cabin fever I have is more than just  idiom; it has a scientific basis.

An article from a team of researchers from the University of Michigan in the journal Psychological Sciencecalled The Cognitive Benefits of Interacting With Nature claim that time in nature improves attention spans of subjects.

If it is hard on adults to be inside too much, can you imagine how a child feels?

I am grateful that I can take a break from writing and join E-day in the Rain Garden.  Those fortunate children, and me. Otherwise I may never be able to finish my

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

